Areas of Practice

Areas of Practice

All Areas


Wardell Chambers Areas of practice is a modern and highly respected chambers built upon a rich history of developing leading advocates. Established in 1977 as “16 Wardell”, Wardell Chambers is named after Robert Wardell, one of Australia’s first barristers, and was responsible for the original division of the roles of solicitor and barrister.

Our Head of Chambers is John Agius SC, who is joined by four other silks and 22 barristers. We are a multi-disciplinary floor whose members practice across the spectrum of legal disciplines.

Wardell Chambers has two mediation rooms, the Hughes Room and the Ellicott Room. They are named after two of our former Heads of Chambers the Honourable Tom Hughes AO QC, a former Commonwealth Attorney-General, and the Honourable Robert Ellicott AC QC, a former Commonwealth Solicitor-General and Attorney-General, and a Justice of the Federal Court of Australia.

Please contact our clerk for information about our barristers or facilities.

Mark Tedeschi AM KC

John Agius SC

Peter Neil SC

Alison Stenmark SC

Lindsay Ellison SC

Vahan Bedrossian SC

Dennis Wilson

John Drummond

Jeff Clarke

Adrian Williams

Stephen Barnes

Philip Wallis

Brett Eurell

Faye Ashworth

Bharan Narula

Philip Boncardo

Matthew McAuliffe

Andy Munro

Sarah McCarthy

Catherine Newman

Brendan Searson

Alex Brown

Kieran Fitzgerald

Emilija Beljic

Andris Gauja


James Walker

Stephanie Erian

Owen Bellhouse-Smith